The Dwarfs of East Agouza أقزام شرق العجوز

dwarfs of east agouza

Dwarfs of East Agouza (eg) + Trance Mission Gnawa (mar, b, it, pt)


The Dwarfs Of East Agouza is a trio from Cairo formed in 2012 by MAURICE LOUCA (keyboards/electronics), SAM SHALABI (electric guitar/synth), and ALAN BISHOP (guitar/saxophone/vocals) of Sublime Frequencies & Sun City Girls fame.The group utilizes improvisation to propel their unique and hypnotic musical vision. In 2016 debut album Bes was released on Nawa Recordings followed by a EU Tour including performances at CTM FestivalClandestino FestivalJazz Jantar Festival, Le Guess Who? and Unsound Festival amongst others


The band Trance Mission Gnawa was born from the encounter between the gnawa maâlem Hassan el Gadiri and the saxophone player Grégoire Tirtiaux and follows as a mission the transmission of the spirit of trance music.
Gnawa music carries the sound and rhythmic variations of the european musicians. Riffs, arrangements and improvisations color gnawa music with an afro-(free)jazz tonality sending the audience into the different nuances of trance rhythms.

The musicians are:
Maâlem Hassan el Gadiri (Hassan Zgarhi): guembri, Tebl, vocals
Jamal Zgarhi: Qarqaba, vocals
Quentin Manfroy: Flute
Laurent Blondiau: Trumpet
Jeroen Van Herzeele: Tenor Sax 
Grégoire Tirtiaux; Baritone Sax, vocals
Giovanni di Domenico: Keyboards
Joao Lobo: Drums